Thanks for the feedback Xavirne :)
Printable View
Thanks for the feedback Xavirne :)
Can you explain how fighting creatures works?
I want to make sure my post is correct and, if it isn't, I want to know how to change it so it's right.
I looked over the information given on the first page and I don't believe I read anything that explained what happens when attacking something like a rat. The HP of the rat is less than River's attack... so does that mean it dies, especially since it doesn't block or dodge? Or does River's attack only = 1?
Thanks!
Here's what you've done wrong, otherwise everything is perfectly fine.
1. You don't have to show your stats anywhere since your player card demonstrates them.
2. The large rat attacks and every other random event is determined by dice roll. I see what you misunderstood.
You see, there are two dice rolls which happen every turn except for the first one, the list shown on the beginning post was just to explain the result of all possible rolls, it was not intended to state what happened from the get go. For instance, if the first dice rolls 3 and the second dice rolls 7, River would skip his turn. Then on the next turn another dice roll would happen (ex: 7-4, causing Sasha to not recover stamina this turn) and this would happen every time all players have posted.
To answer your question: Yes, the rat would die after a single hit, but since he attacked before you did, you would also lose the 3 ATK of the rat in HP unless you block or dodge, consuming stamina. Battles with animals will happen the same as any other battles, but the GM will be handling them. Animals always attack on their turn and (if you back away) they chase after you. They cannot flee, block or dodge.
IN THE END: Just remove the part about the rat from your post and the stats from your actions and your post will be perfectly fine.
So can I not attack the rat yet? Or am I even attacking the rat? O.o I guess I don't follow the dice information. Are we supposed to roll our own dice to figure out our results? Or are the ones you listed (dice two results 3-4)?
And if he is confronting the rat, how would I know if he (River) dodged the rat's attack? Do I need to roll a dice?
Gah, sorry for the questions. I'm just trying to figure it out (this is why I don't want a second character. If I can't get one right, I doubt I could get two right).
It's fine. Sorry if you didn't understand the game completely. I'll go try to revise the rules.
1. There is no rat at the moment.
2. The dices shown on the first post are just... to show what happens if the dices land a certain way. Example, if dice 1 lands on 3 or 4, the effects of dice 2 will happen to River. If they land on 7 or 8, they will happen to Sasha, and so on.
3. The two dices are rolled every GM post. In the GM post, there will be an updated map depicting the locations, a list of whatever weapons were picked up by who and the result of any and all actions. This post happens after Sasha's in our game, but in any other game, it's after the post of the last poster.
4. Dodging, Blocking, Attacking, Moving are all things that spend Stamina (STA) every turn, you recover (REC) an amount of stamina (ex: if your recover is 2, you regain 2 stamina every turn regardless of the actions you've done).
----Your SPE is the maximum amount of movements you can do in one turn (ex: since River has 2 SPE, he can move 2 squares per turn). Every square you move counts as 1 action and thus counts 1 STA.
----Your ATK is the maximum amount of damage you can do in one turn (ex: River has 3 ATK, so he can do up to 3 damage in one turn). You can do less damage if you're running low on Stamina or if you don't want to waste any when your enemy is on the verge of death, but every point of damage you intend on doing costs 1 STA. If you hold a weapon, the bonus damage of the weapon does not cost any STA (ex: If River has a +2 ATK sword and does 2 STA of damage, he'd be dealing 4 STA of damage.
----If you choose to block, you must spend an amount of stamina equal to the amount of damage your opponent intends on doing. This may change if you have a defense enhancing item.
----If you choose to dodge. You must spend an amount of stamina equal to your speed +1. You are only able to dodge if your opponent's speed is lower than your own.
I hope this covers everything you needed to know. Don't worry about asking more questions, that's what I'm here for.
Ah, that makes more sense now! Thanks for clarifying :)
You're welcome.
Updated post. That better?
It's perfect. BTW, just to make it easier on me from now on (don't worry, you don't have to edit your post for something so small). Please use directions such as "Up, Down, Left, Right" when making a move. Right now, I am interpreting your move forward as a move down since your character started in the upper right corner, do let me know if I'm wrong.
@Xavirne: Thanks for asking your questions... I read the rules and I was pretty sure, but I wanted to make 100% certain.
@Alex: My turn, right?
Yup.
Yay! Btw, is it ok if I change Zabeth's personality and backstory a little? I won't change anything else.
Alright, just making it clear.
@Ophelia: Sure, just don't change her too much since she's already behaved a certain way for a while now.
New question! Now that the first round is over and we're onto round two, we wait for our dice rolls before we post, right? Like PLAYER ONE posts their move and ends turn. I wait for my dice roll and, once I get it, I post my stuff. PLAYER THREE waits for their roll and posts once received. And lastly, PLAYER FOUR waits for a roll before posting.
Is that right? I just want to make sure I don't jump the gun and post before I'm supposed to ^^
No, there is only one dice roll per turn. The roll resulted in Karin receiving an RI. Next turn there will be another roll.
Wait. So can I post? And, if so, how do I know what happens to River? Or does nothing happen to him since dice 1 didn't roll a 3 or 4.
Nothing happens to river since dice one didn't roll a 3 or 4. Yes, you may feel free to post. :)
Ah, gotcha! I think I'm starting to catch on now :D---------- Post added at 11:37 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:30 AM ----------Now that I'm getting the hang of the game, I wouldn't be opposed to making a second character, if needed :)
I would probably pull in one of these five:
They all seem like pretty sweet characters and it wouldn't be needed, but I wanted to have the option available :)
Btw, are we still looking for more people to join this? I invited a few friends to check it out. Not sure if they'll bite or not (and if there's space).
There's definitely space. The more the merrier, being able to host more than one game at once would be top notch.
Thanks for advertising.
Okay so how does one do this battle thing?
Dodging, attacking. Etc. Is River allowed to move forward? Or does he lose that ability since he's dodging? Or does he need to dodge/get hit first before he can move? And since he has a range of +3 for attack, would he be able to attack her back (assuming he doesn't KO)?
---------- Post added at 08:34 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:21 AM ----------
All right, imma try to work this out.
Karin just moved forward.
(Karin STA is 2)
River has 4 STA currently. He also has 3 ATK and 3 HP.
Let's say he doesn't dodge.
Karin's 2 ATK knocks River's HP to 1.
(Karin 2 STA is dropped to 0 STA)
(River's 3 HP is dropped to 1 HP)
River attacks and expands 3 STA (he currently has 4 STA).
(River's STA is now 1)
Since Karin has no STA, she gets hit? 3 STA to 3 HP? Does that mean it's a KO?
But that doesn't make sense... since she wouldn't have a chance to dodge. So does that mean at the start of her next turn, she'll recover 2 STA which is equal to River's 2 SPE?
Karin needs to use 3 STA to dodge the attack. But she doesn't have 3 STA. So does that mean she's KOed now?
^^; I'll just wait for you to come on so I know how to post correctly~!
---------- Post added at 08:41 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:34 AM ----------
But what if River decides to dodge…
River has 4 STA, 3 ATK, and 3 HP.
He dodges.
(River STA drops to 0)
He ends turn since he can't do anything else.
When the turns end, he'll recover 2 STA. But that won't do him any good. He would just die that turn since he can't do anything with just 2 STA.
Doing that just prolongs the inevitable and doesn't make much sense. So River's other option is to flee.
How far does he flee? Or does he just withdraw from the battle? Which, again, is pointless as she can just get him in the next round.
---------- Post added at 08:43 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:41 AM ----------
Oh snap. I didn't realize the weapon had an attack boost. River's KOed in all options.
---------- Post added at 08:56 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:43 AM ----------
Oh River, he's such a good sport.
P.S. I wasn't sure how someone "died" so I kinda just made it up. ^^;
Hmm... to answer your questions;
1. both River and Karin have a range advantage (river due to his Ravager perk, Karin due to the bow she found). But under normal circumstances, you can only attack someone who is on the SAME square as you (not an adjacent one). Due to the bow, Karin can attack 2 squares in any direction, River can 3. The only way that Karin could attack River with her bow, in this case, is by approaching him. Since Karin actually backed away before attacking, there are actually 5 squares between Karin and River. In other words; River is out of range and should not be hit by the attack.
2. As for the range of the bow, a diagonal move counts as two moves and so does a diagonal attack. In other words, if Karin stayed in her position and River moved 2 left and 2 down (for the sheer example, I know he couldn't due to his speed). He would also be out of her range. For the sake of example. watch the 0 grid below, the red squares (X being Karin's position) is Karin's current range.
000000000
000000000
0000X0000
000000000
000000000
It was a mistake on Vickiazn's part, I believed the weapon's range was clearly visible. I'll ask them to edit their post and then I'll ask you to do the same. It's a practice round though, so there will be no penalties, the whole purpose of this is to make sure everyone is clear on what's ok and not.
2. River is slower than Karin, so dodging is not an option he is given. In our little game, the only person River can dodge is Zabeth (in the rules, it is stated that you can only dodge someone slower than yourself by using your speed in STA +1. So for River to dodge, he would have to spend 3 stamina and his opponent would need to have 1 or 2 in speed, or have 3 and an effect that slows them down during battle only.
3. The option that IS open to River is blocking. When blocking, you use however amount of STA you want and reduce that amount from the damage of the ATK. Karin's current ATK is 3 at full force, 2 at minimal force. If you use 2 STA to block, the damage will drop by 2 points, which would be enough for River to live and fight another day. Since he had the healer perk, healing the damage wouldn't be too much of an issue, since he has enough stamina to afford doing both these things. However, if I were playing River I would advise against blocking and healing, I would block, then move. Since your REC is low, the next turn you would be left with precious little STA and she would be able to just shoot you again. That said, if you block so much as 1 damage, since River has 3 HP, you'll be able to survive with no problem. Karin is swift, has as much HP as you do, but she's not an attacker.
4. ANOTHER THING; Once you have a weapon, you may NOT instigate a fight with an unarmed character (this is also in the rules which apparently nobody is reading) without a penalty. The alternative, however, is entirely possible. Keep in mind that River's range and attack power are both higher than Karin's (though now ATK is equal since she has a bow). You also have more Stamina than her. All in all, unless it's diagonally, here's one thing for you to keep in mind; If River is in Karin's range, the opposite is also true.
5. So now here's what can go on;
----Karin lets River find a weapon, then attacks him.
----River attacks Karin first, allowing Karin to retaliate (you can't start a fight with an unarmed player, but you can attack them back).
----Karin can attack River while unarmed and score a penalty point (though in a practice game this doesn't really matter, I'll just have it noted somewhere). Which will translate to a Recovery penalty for the next turn.
__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ ____
Sorry I did not intervene earlier, I hadn't noticed the occurrences. I usually just check the thread once I see Ophelia has posted since its my turns and that's when I read your posts.
I won't post until this matter's settled. I hope that's cool.
It's fine. It would be unfair for you to have to post blind when others get to know your move. It wouldn't be fair for you and it wouldn't be fair for them if they didn't have the chance to edit their posts.
Alex, I will not be on between now and Tuesday. Feel free to move River accordingly. Note that River is no bullshit kind of guy when it comes to dying, so he would rather die an honorable death than flee. Just post actions and skip the RP part. I can always fill that in later, should I deem it necessary.
Thanks!
Alright, I will take care of it. Have a good time.
Fixed it! Sorry to hold everyone up! I'll apologize to everyone's Profiles. . .
It's fine, it's fine. Mistakes happen and you didn't hold us up more than a day so its nothing to freak out about. As I said earlier, the whole reason I made a practice round was in case mistakes happened. Everyone, try to have fun and Vickiazn, thank you for complying, it made things so much simpler :)
It takes a mature individual to admit they've made a mistake, I appreciate it.
Sorry about the delay! I updated my post. I had him do nothing. :3
Alright cool! Sorry I didn't do it myself, apparently it's impossible for me to edit other people's posts even in my own RP... I guess I get it, but its inconvenient when you have permission.
OPHELIA! I know you're lurking! When you see this, go post.
O rly?! I never knew that. I always assumed GMs had that kind of power. Interesting...
No, we don't unfortunately... not on this site.
OH MY GOD IT'S MY TURN AGAIN!! O.O
Sorry guys, I kinda don't pay attention since this is my only RP at the moment... Except the one I have with Alex and we like, never post there anymore...
ANYWAYS!
Xavirne, I saw your new RP, I'm thinking of joining it as Snow White... but first... POST!
Alright, I'm gonna make my post and start the next turn by tomorrow. I just got a new laptop and I haven't installed photoshop yet, so I can't make a new map until that is done. We're talking 2, maybe 3 more hours. If it's 2, it'll be done by tonight, otherwise, I'll probably head to bed and post it tomorrow.
Does this mean you'll be able to skype again? :DDD?
We'll have to see how installing skype goes before I can answer that <.<
Oh. Alright.