Login to your account

Thread: Is it better to mentor 1x1 or 1x2+?

Is it better to mentor 1x1 or 1x2+?

I'm new to group RPs, so I'm probably biased, but 1x1 to me seems like the best way. First, if there are any mistakes, then it doesn't feel like calling an individual out in front of everyone else. It also neither seems like gang-banging (if others were to take part) nor confusing as multiple people give their own opinion. Now, I can see some benefits of group RPs, because the mentored individual can see what works and what doesn't outside of a "vacuum", but who says that they can have only one mentor? If you believe group is the best, then is there a limit to how many? Lastly, what if a mentor helped while not being involved in the actual story, whether in OOC or as an editor for their student (to show how good the student's post could be)?
    "Ew. Did you check to see what date this raw milk expires?"
    "Yeah, what happened?"
    "I found a curd."
    "Did you shake it?"
    "No."
    "It's the cream. The fat floats to the top."
    "Oh, I just thought it was Bridgid's backwash the first couple of times."
    "Wait, why didn't you say 'ew' when you thought that?"

When I mentor players regardless of the interaction we choose, groups or one on one, the method and the content I feel the player needs to learn doesn't change. As far as calling someone out and the resulting "gang-bang" scenario you paint can be easily avoided by talking privately before publicly discussing the issue.

I feel the best sized group roleplay, regular or mentor situation, is four players. I feel anything more than six players is to many. I find four players can easily balance a cast of characters and in an OOC situation, plotting and planning, four people is a nice equal balance of opinions and suggestions that doesn't get to out of hand. I also find with a four player group you have far less in-fighting or disputes.