Login to your account

Thread: Film Style Opinions

Background NPC

Film Style Opinions

Hello, all. I know I haven't contributed much to the site (mainly due to work and school interfering with my free time), but I hope you all don't hold it against me too much. lol

Anyways, for those of you who don't know me, I'm a writer at heart and am working towards a degree in screenwriting, making scripts for TV shows and movies. There's one idea I'm playing around with, and I am seriously considering writing it for the handycam style of filming (i.e.: Blair Witch Project, Cloverfield, Quarantine, Paranormal Activity, etc.).

I know there are a lot of opinions about handycam filming that are both good and bad, so consider this a poll of sorts: what do you think about it? Do you like it, do you hate it? What do you or don't you like about the style? What could we, as filmmakers, do to improve on it?

As for the film I have planned, it'll be more freestyle filming like Cloverfield rather than the fixed, smooth shots like Paranormal Activity, based heavily in the horror genre.

I hate watching those movies- not because of screenwriting, but because they make me motion sick. (Well, also, many of them are just not very good). I understand that it can save a lot on filming, but those movies tend to be improv anyway- not a lot of writing aside from a summary overview.

When they lean toward the horror genre, I find it to be a cheap way to try to build suspense- and it usually comes off flat. Not to say it couldn't work, it just usually doesn't. Even the "first" movie done this way (Blair Witch) I thought was dull and the suspense was almost overdone to the point of cheese.